In an Auto Accident – Working Through Car Insurance and Auto Accidents

Southern Utah drivers often wonder what auto-insurance is required, and what auto-insurance they should get to protect themselves and their families. Utah does require some minimum amounts of liability protection to cover everyone in a truck accident. The state mandatory minimums are 25/65/15. Those numbers refer to policy limit amounts for bodily injury damages per person/total bodily injury damages per incident/property damage to vehicle. Utah also requires that your insurance policy cover the first $3,000 of your own medical expenses regardless of fault after an accident. Unfortunately, having state minimum insurance is not enough to protect you. Those amounts likely will not be enough to repair the harm to yourself or to others that you may crash into. They do not even address paying for damage to your own car. The following breakdown gives basic insight into what to consider when enrolling in a new auto insurance policy.

Fatal Truck Accident Grasmere
Photo Credit: ER24 EMS (Pty) Ltd.

Liability Coverage: In order to fully pay for damage that you may cause to others, many insurance companies suggest carrying 100/300/50 for your liability limits. That way, anyone that you hurt should be able to be fully compensated and taken care of and you won’t have to worry as much about being sued personally for the amount above your policy limits. It is amazing how quickly medical bills and emotional damages can exceed $25,000.

PIP Coverage: Utah has a no-fault law. Meaning that your own insurance company must cover your medical bills after a car accident regardless of who is at fault. This amount is currently set at $3,000. That gives you access to $3,000, no questions asked for an ambulance ride, emergency room exam, chiropractic treatment, or even physical therapy or massage. Once your personal injury protection fund is exhausted, additional bills would need to be paid for by the at-fault party’s liability policy.

Comprehensive/Collision Coverage: State minimum insurance does nothing to pay for the damage to your own car after an accident. When you barrow money to purchase the car, the bank will typically require comprehensive coverage with a limit of at least the value of the loan. Comprehensive will cover your own car for any damage that happens to it, whether from theft, vandalism, or any other hazard. Collision coverage is also for your own car, but it only covers the damage if caused by a car crash.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage is what kicks in when the other driver has not been responsible. If he or she does not have enough coverage to pay for you claim, and he or she does not have assets to make up the difference, you will need uninsured/underinsured motorist claims. Typically, people with cheap insurance do not have much money. That is why uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is essential for you to actually feel safe on the road.

The bottom line is that anyone with a clean driving record can get state minimum insurance for ridiculously cheap. Price is not everything when it comes to protecting your family. Auto insurance is a serious matter that should be discussed with a trusted insurance adjustor. Don’t be unpreprepared when disaster strikes. Accidents happen to everyone.

This article is offered only for general information and educational purposes. It is not offered as and does not constitute legal advice or legal opinion. You should not act or rely on any information contained in this article without first seeking the advice of an attorney.